It’s Monday What are you Reading, January 15

IMWAYR 2015 logo

I didn’t really feel like I had much time to write this today (I got Mondaied- is this even a word and how do I spell it). I am pleased to eventually be able to link up my weekly reading report with the great people who also do so at teachmentortexts.com and unleashingreaders.com. I feel compelled to write today because I have really enjoyed everything I have been reading lately and want to shout these titles out to random strangers.

Books I Finished This Week:

The Infamous Ratsos

This was a funny transitional chapter book, and as most of you probably already know the first in a series. I think this is one to share and chat about how a person projects to others or builds a reputation and what you should want this reputation to be. I am interested in seeing how the change in the characters that takes place in the book continues on in the future volumes.

How to Be an Elephant

This is a book I had wanted to buy for a while, but I always felt like our budget was slim and we have so many animal books in the library. But this one is worth it. It is so different from the non-fiction I read growing up. I loved the illustrations and all the information that made you really understand what life is like for young elephants.

Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe, #2)

I have to admit that Scythe was one of my favourite reads of 2017, so I was really excited for this book to arrive. I got a copy from NetGalley and tossed aside some great books that I planned to read for this one. I want to be cautious in what I write here for people who have not read Scythe, so I will just say I really enjoyed this book’s rollercoaster like plot as well as the political and philosophical debate it would stir in my classroom if I was a high school teacher. There is a little bit of everything in this series including cringe worthy moments where I feared for humanity and for my sanity as a reader.

How I Became a Ghost

I also really loved this book to and want to get others to read it so I can chat with them about it (which plagues me when I read the Scythe books as a grade 5/6 teacher). The members of the Choctaw Nation persevere through terrible treatment at the hands of soldiers as they are relocated from between the Mississippi and Alabama Rivers to Oklahoma in this tale that is written with just the right amount of humour to go with a very serious subject. I was concerned this might not be an easy book to share with my students, but I think I will be able to. Selected wisdom from one character, “You cannot keep your eyes on the bloody footprints you have left behind. You must keep your eyes on where you are going.” That part kind of reminded me of Jason Reynolds’ Ghost. This is a short, fast read that will stick with me for a while and may go well with discussions of the Reconciliation.

Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King (The Guardians, #1)

This was our family read aloud that we wanted to get to before the holidays but ended up starting around the 23rd. The imagination of William Joyce in his art and here in the text is really special. We really enjoyed this story that when we started we thought would be the origin story of Santa. It isn’t exactly that, as there is some other world building at work here, but I just really loved this line, “You know, a daydream properly utilized can be the most powerful force in the universe.” I have a feeling that William Joyce has had some of these daydreams.

Currently Reading:

Insignificant Events in the Life of a CactusLast Day on Mars (Chronicle of the Dark Star, #1)

I started Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus last week, and I am really enjoying the main character, Aven, who is spunky and has a sense of humour. Last Day on Mars is a re-read for me as we are using it for our Battle of the Books this year. I am keen to read the sequel in about a month. This was a thrill ride of an action/sci-fi book. Our next family read is to be selected tonight, and while it is not my turn to choose I am pretty sure it will be Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. I am also hoping to get to some picture books and maybe Miles Morales as well this week.

Look forward to reading what others have been up to this week. Happy Reading!

Leave a comment